top of page
  • abbyhoffman12

How to Buy Books on a Budget

Hey guys!

If you are a fellow book lover like me, you understand the need to constantly be buying new books. I am always ready to add a book to my growing collection, especially if its a novel that means a lot to me.


But let's be real, books can be pricey! Brand new books do not always fit in the budget of a college student. They also do not always fit on my bookshelf, but that generally has not stopped me in the past.


Luckily for me and my bank account, there are plenty of ways to buy books for less than retail. I would like to share a few of them today, so that you can afford to start your own home library as well. I love all these places to buy books, but we'll lead up to my favorites.


1. Amazon

I realize that Amazon is a common place to buy most anything these days, but I especially love perusing it for books! I think this site is a good option if you want to buy a book as a gift, since you can buy a new copy. I have found that often they will have slashed prices on their novels, making them cheaper than if you were to buy them from another book seller. Amazon also usually has an option to look at used copies of a book, if you do not mind it not being brand new. Also if you have amazon prime you obviously get free shipping, and c'mon, that just makes everything better.


2. Garage Sales


This option can be hit and miss, since you never really know what will be at your local yard sale. But let me tell you, I have found some gems simply by checking out a rummage sale! I also think this one is fun because it is almost like a treasure hunt. You have to look through the piles of books and try to find any you are interested in. While you may not always end up with what you were looking for, you will often discover something to enjoy. Typically garage sales prices do not break the bank either. Who doesn't want to come away with a fifty cent book?


3. Thrift Stores


Sophie and I went thrift shopping several times during our freshman year. One of our favorite spots in the store to explore was, obviously, the book section. You do have to do some searching, but you are likely to find a novel or two that you just cannot leave the store without. From classics to new young adult books, these stores also tend to have quite the variety. The prices can be different depending on the thrift store, but I have never left with a book that was more than a couple bucks. That's cheaper than what most of us spend on coffee and it lasts longer. I don't know about you, but I am sold.


4. Books-A-Million (https://www.booksamillion.com/)


This store is basically the dream for any book nerd like myself. It's a great place to find easy presents since a lot of the merchandise is categorized by fandom. And if you are not shopping for someone else, I guarantee you will find something for yourself. If you take me there, I will definitely be found geeking out in the Harry Potter section. But besides the general "coolness" of the store, you can also find some great deals if you look around. While not all the merchandise is marked down, much of it is on sale. I think this is a good place to come if you are looking for newer releases that are inexpensive, since from my experience they have many options for that category. Even if you do not end up buying something, you'll come away with a wish list of things you want to buy. Also, if you do not live nearby a BAM bookstore their online store has you covered!


Could I have a drum roll please? It is time to announce my absolute favorite place to buy books for cheap. I am talking about the goldmine. The place that has gotten so much of my business I am in the high tier of their rewards program. Oops. The winner is...


5. Thriftbooks (https://www.thriftbooks.com/share/?code=XXJdEUKmZsItPRulhIiVow%253d%253d If you use my referral link you will get 15% off your first purchase!)


I could probably gush about Thriftbooks, for like, forever if you let me. But I know this post is lengthy alright so I will just hit the highlights!

  • Everything on the site varies from New to Acceptable quality depending on what they have in stock. You get to choose what condition you want, based on what you are willing to pay.

  • The prices are very minimal. I normally have paid around $3-5 per a book, and for decent copies. However, if you want new copies you often can get those for below retail as well.

  • Shipping is cheap to begin with, but you get free shipping once you have hit $10 in your cart.

  • They have an amazing rewards program called ReadingRewards. The more points you earn, the more free books your earn. Yes, I said FREE. How is that for books on budget? I have earned several free books from my time in the program, because they often have opportunities to earn double points or extra points.

Okay, all raving aside, we love Thriftbooks. Yes, there are a couple drawbacks. They do not always have a book you might want, especially if its a newer release. And...this site is really addictive. Admittedly, I placed two orders only a couple of weeks ago. But hey, we'll keeping shifting books to the top of my shelf and make it work.


I hope you have enjoyed looking through my budget books recommendations! Please leave a comment or a message if you try any of these options or have tried them in the past. Also feel free to subscribe to our blog to keep up with any new content.


Keep reading,

Abby

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page