top of page
  • abbyhoffman12

Fictional Books That Changed My Life

A life changing book does more than just give you something to enjoy for 200 or so pages. A life changing book connects with you on a personal level. It's plot may have a meaning that touches you or a character that reminds you so much of yourself. In whatever way it reaches out to your life, it creates an impact that is not forgotten.


I love those books. They are the ones I go back to. When I reread them it is almost like traveling in time to when I first read them, bringing up memories through the pages of the familiar read. These books taught me something I needed to hear at the time or shared something truly worth knowing. They are almost like old friends, always there to remind me of something I may have forgotten. I have learned from so many books, but here are a few of the top fictional books that changed my life and why.


The Bronze Bow by Elizabeth George Speare


Set when Jesus walked the earth, this novel takes the reader through many emotions. The main character, Daniel Bar Jamin, has a deep hatred for the Romans that occupy his nation of Israel. He acts out from this distaste, both vocally and physically, showing his displeasure over the mistreatment of his people and over his father's wrongful passing.


His viewpoint is shaken however as he hears the teachings of a carpenter: Jesus of Nazareth. This man's voice is one of gentleness and love. It is so unlike all that Daniel has stood for up until this point.

“It is the hate that is the enemy. Not men. Hate does not die with killing. It only springs up a hundredfold. The only thing stronger than hate is love.”
― Elizabeth George Speare, The Bronze Bow

Will Daniel be able to put aside his vengeance and accept the peaceful attitude of this new teacher? A story of forgiveness, loyalty, and friendship, the Bronze Bow takes you on the journey of change in a man's life.


I first read this book for school when I was around fourteen or fifteen. It has been often stuck on my bookshelf instead of our schoolroom's bookshelves since then. Daniel's story moved me because it is so like all of our own. We naturally feel that acting out of hate will fix things, but it does not. Violence is never the answer. This book reminds of us of that by returning to the love as the solution, as much as Daniel dislikes that idea in the beginning.


While there's nothing that can compare to reading God's word, reading a story that involves Jesus as a character is also unique and personal. I remember breaking down the first time I finished this book, crying as I realized I was Daniel in my own way. This book has stayed with me throughout the years, every time I read it a reminder that there is another way, a better way, to approach the sorrows of life then with hate and bitterness.



Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen


A book by a YA Romance author may seem like an odd pick for a book that changed my life. But Saint Anything is more than your typical feel good read.


Overshadowed for years by her older brother Peyton, Sydney is used to feeling invisible. When her brother's poor choices lead to a drunk driving incident with major consequences, Sydney realizes even more how blind her parents are to what truly matters, including what is going on in her own life.


Then she meets the Chatham's. A bubbly, chaotic family with a tight bond, they pull Sydney right into their own little world. She finally feels found and seen, especially through her friendship with calm and quiet Mac. A story of understanding your place in the world and how you fit in it, Saint Anything is told in a comfortable way that anyone can relate to.


I read this book for the first time a couple years ago when I was going through a Sarah Dessen phase. But this one in particular stuck out to me and I have reread it since. I liked the way the author allows us to get in to Sydney's head. We see how she is struggling to process what is going around her--her parents treatment of her older brother--and yet also how she feels she has no one to share that with until she meets the Chatham's.


“You only really fall apart in front of the people you know can piece you back together.”
― Sarah Dessen, Saint Anything

We all go through times when we feel others do not grasp what is going on in our lives. Sometimes I feel scared to open up to those around me. Sydney went through it on a challenging level, because even her own family lets her down. However, the story doesn't end there. It is so validating to watch her finally be real with others and receive the love she needed all along. A few tears were definitely shed towards the end of this book as it reflects on how much Sydney has grown. Overall, this story means a lot to me because I want to learn like Sydney did. Honesty can lead to understanding and closer friendships. It's just a little scary at first.



Let's Get Lost by Adi Alsaid


Centered around a girl's crazy road trip and the four strangers she meets along the way, this book has been a favorite of mine for awhile.

The main character Leila is not your ordinary girl. She's off alone in search of the Northern Lights and hopes to find even more than that when she gets there. But it's the people Leila unexpectedly helps on her journey that really show her what she is looking for. And in many ways, meeting Leila helps her newfound friends discover what they are looking for too.


A tale full of friendship, hope, love, and a little bit of loss, it's a book that I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a heartwarming YA read.



So how did this book change my life? Well it's just plain relatable for one. Life is a journey, full of highs and lows, but we find solace in the people we experience that journey with. Life can throw curve balls at us we do not expect but sometimes it is what we need in order to grow as a person. Those around us can also fail us, but time can help to heal the wound if we let it.

“People hurt each other. It happens to everyone. Intentionally, unintentionally, regretfully or not. It's a part of what we do as people. The beauty is that we have the ability to heal and forgive.”
―Adi Alsaid, Let's Get Lost

The honesty of this books plot touches on these points of life: the times of anger, the times of happiness, and the times of sadness. The author highlights these aspects and creates a story that had me laughing, smiling and also crying. 10/10


red rating (I felt I had to put red since there is swearing, drinking and some inappropriate scenes or references in this book.)


I hope you enjoyed learning about these books and learning a little bit more about me as well! If you would be interested in another post of books that changed my life comment down below or send a message.


Keep Reading,

Abby


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page