top of page
  • Writer's pictureBooks Undecided

10 Books No One Has Read

Updated: Jun 1, 2020

The other day I (Abby) was rereading one of my favorite books for probably the third or fourth time. Yes, I am a sucker for a good reread, you should know that about me. As I was fangirling at one of the best scenes, I remembered that a lot of people have not read the book I was reading. Honestly, that made me really sad. Hence the idea for this post was born. Sophia and I will be sharing some of the best books we have read, that well, most people have never even heard of.


These are ten books nobody knows about, but are GOLDEN.


The Rope Trick by Llyod Alexander (Abby's Pick)


It is probably best to start with the very book that sparked the idea for this post. The true gold that is the work of a man named Llyod Alexander. Written for ages 10 and up it may seem like a more juvenile read. However, I would argue that anybody of any age can find a sense of meaning in this book. And even if they do not grasp the full meaning, it is impossible not to become enraptured with the magic woven throughout this fantastical novel. The story follows the journey of a magician named Lidi and her ultimate desire to learn a mysterious act--the rope trick. Her quest is tested as she must decide whether to fight only for herself or also for the people she loves. Emotionally, this books hits me at so many levels. While the story is fiction, the choices we make about what and who we live for are very real even in my own life.



The Silenced by James DeVita (Sophia's Pick)


A hidden treasure is first discovered and then valued. That's how I knew I found one after reading this masterpiece by DeVita. I had seen it on my library's YA shelf for years, but I never even bothered to read the description. Until one day, I did.


Marena is just a girl, but she feels like a prisoner while living in her city controlled by the Zero Tolerance Party. The ZT controls everything. No paper, no books, no secrets, and no freedom. The story follows Marena and her friend Dex as Marena wishes to speak out just like her mother did. However, her mother never came back. The ZT killed her for using her voice. Marena now must decide if she will be silent, or if she will dare to speak.

This story means the world to me. I tend to be indecisive, but after turning its pages four times over, The Silenced remains to be my favorite book. What makes this story so incredible is the fact that DeVita wrote it based off of the true story of Sophie Scholl in Nazi Germany. Both Sophie and Marena were faced with a dangerous truth-- Having a voice is life changing, but not using it, can kill you.


Top Ten Clues You're Clueless by Liz Czukas (Abby's Pick)


Hidden away in our library's YA paperback section I had not thought to read this book until a friend recommended to me. It follows the life of Chloe, who plans out everything in life. She even creates lists on how to open up more to her grocery store coworkers, especially a very cute bagger. Her Christmas Eve shift goes awry one night, however, when the store unexpectedly is missing donation money. Throughout her Nancy Drew sleuthing that she pulls her coworkers into, Chloe learns more about those around her and more about herself.


Overall, this read is quite fun, but it also has touching themes throughout. It teaches valuable lessons about not judging people based on who they appear to be. I also can relate to Chloe's timidity to open up to those around her and get out of her own head. That is what has made this read such a remarkable one to me.


orange rating

Hope Was Here by Joan Bauer (Sophia's Pick)


If you are looking for a short but sweet, heartwarming, enjoyable and fun read, Hope Was Here is for you.

I distinctly remember the feeling I felt after finishing this book. I had tears in my eyes. Now, I tend to cry a lot when I read. However, this was the first I read a book that made me feel like I was living the main character's life. That's when you know a book is worth gold.

Hope moves with her aunt to Wisconsin to take control of a diner that has been losing business. However, the diner isn't ready to give up and neither is its owner. Granted, it has been awhile since I've read this book, but I don't forget how they impacted me. Hope Was Here is worth your read.



Interrupted: A Life Beyond Words by Rachel Coker (Abby's Pick)


After reading Rachel's second novel, Chasing Jupiter, I knew I needed to read her debut book she wrote as a teenager. Set during WWII, this historical piece weaves a brilliant story about love and loss. After the pain of losing a parent who actually had already been lost for awhile, Allie Everly's life is further turned upside down as she moves to a new state. She is irritated by this change she had no choice in and is quick to reject the faith of her new foster mother Beatrice. Her attitude grows further as she runs into an old friend where she least expects. However, through those around her, Allie will start to understand how to handle all the ups and downs of her mixed up life. She may even grow to accept the love from the One above. But only if she allows herself to finally let go of the hurt of her past.


This book had an incredible impact on my life. I appreciated how the author included Christian aspects in a natural way, without compromising the honesty of the plot and storyline. Allie's story is one we all face in our own way. Will we choose to grow bitter at the way things are or move past that to find love? I have definitely been brought to tears throughout this read. On a side note, it also has one of the CUTEST scenes ever, so I promise it won't have you crying the whole time.



Song of the Sparrow by Lisa Ann Sandell (Sophia's Pick)


If you want a little more adult styled book, Sandell's King Arthur tale is for you. Written in poetic verse, this story captures the life of Elaine of Ascolat, the only female in King Arthur's military camp. She's sixteen and in love with the older Lancelot. However, like we all know, Lancelot's heart yearns for another.


This classic retelling goes beyond the tropes we all know so much about. It tears down the stereotype of a woman in 490 A.D. It expresses the love of a father and daughter, of a nation and its ruler, and of a young girl and her idol. What makes this book gold is its writing style. Oftentimes, I find myself scanning down pages of books instead of taking everything in. Authors like to add fluff and descriptive paragraphs that add nothing and often take away from the story. However, with work like Sandell's, only the important information is written. Scarcely is there more than fifty words on the page. Also, this style elevates the story by adding pauses, dashes, jumps, and breaks to propel the story forward. If you haven't read a story in poetic verse, give it a try!



The Sherwood Ring by Elizabeth Marie Pope (Abby's Pick)


Throughout this blog you may find me referring to school books from time to time. This is because I was home schooled through a heavily literature influenced program. Yes, it was pretty awesome. I found so many gems throughout my years doing Sonlight and this is just one of them.

Big statement: this is my *favorite* book. I know, I know, but I warned you it was a big statement. It just is one of the most well thought-out books of all time. It also has historical and contemporary elements, so it's a win-win.


Without further ado, let's get into the plot of this brilliant work of literature. Recently orphaned, Peggy Grahame begins a new life at her family's ancestral home with her eccentric Uncle Enos. Feeling utterly alone, aside from a recent acquaintance of a handsome local scholar Pat, she finds solace in the spirits within the walls of the ancient house. The ghosts of her Colonial ancestors share with her a story of adventure, revenge, and romance set in the past revolution escapades that had occurred in her new neighborhood. Learning lessons from the mistakes of her long gone family members, the stories the ghosts share unlock the truth about the secrets in Peggy's current life, as well as push her into a possible romance of her own.


Whenever I tell people about this story they tend be turned off by the mention of ghosts. But please bear with me! While it may sound off putting and frankly, weird, this story is far from a haunted read. The ghosts are merely the avenue to share flashbacks to the other story that is being told in this novel. Essentially, they are the narrators that allow Peggy to learn about her family's exciting history. The story of modern day and the story of colonial times are both fascinating and swoon worthy plots. I could rave all day about the characters and the lessons they learn along the way. Instead, I will let you discover the story yourself if you will give it a try. I promise you will not be disappointed!



The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe by Ally Condie (Sophia's Pick)


Granted, everyone who reads YA has heard of Condie and her famous and incredible Matched trilogy. However, did you know she released another book worth its weight and more in gold? The Last Voayge of Poe Blythe is that book.


Poe is a captain on her ship, sanctioned by the ruler of her city to flow downstream and look for gold. Most of the story takes place on said ship while its churning down the Serpentine river. However, Poe doesn't want gold. She wants revenge. Two years prior to where we find Poe in the story, love was taken from her by the river raiders. Its her grief and pain that drive her.

For me, what stuck out to me most was the depth and honesty on the topic of grief. We all lose people we love and grief is one of those things we don't know how to deal with. Poe experienced incredible loss and she attempts to funnel her grief into anger and revenge. But she doesn't succeed. In the end, Poe doesn't live happily ever after with someone else to love and hold at night. However, her story ends with her beginning to understand that grief demands to be felt.



Mara, Daughter of the Nile by Eloise Jarvis McGraw (Abby's Pick)


If you are looking for a thrilling historical this is the book for you! The Egyptian setting is part of what makes this book unique, as I have not read many fictional books set during this time. It has been awhile since I have reread this novel, but what I do remember is that it is difficult to put down until it is finished!


The plot twists and turns, and you will find yourself at the edge of your seat trying to figure out what is going to happen next. And yes, there's a pretty great romance in it too that adds to the whole drama of this book. It follows the story of Mara, a slave girl who is recruited for the task of spying. The problem is created when she eventually becomes a double spy for two arch enemies...and ends up falling in love with one of her masters.




The Birthmarked trilogy by Caragh O'Brien (Sophia's Pick)


In all my reading years, I have never heard anyone talk about this trilogy, and it doesn't really make sense to me. I have read the series three times I believe, and each time I finish with a satisfied sigh. There's everything in this book.


Gaia Stone is a midwife outside the Enclave walls. She marked and because of that, she's means very little to her society until, people inside the wall want her for something. Set in a dystopian world, Gaia must flee the Enclave. However, she is not alone. We read about Gaia and her story in three books, Birthmarked, Prized, and Promised.

This trilogy is golden for a lot of reasons. First, this is the only story I've read where the heroine hated violence. It's refreshing. Second, the love interests (yep, plural) were all very enticing. It was hard to know who to root for. Personally, I love a good love triangle. In Gaia's case, it was more of a square.

Last, you know you have something good when you want to come back again and reread it. That's how I feel about this book. There is mature content sprinkled lightly throughout the story so just be aware. However, I don't think it takes away from the story at all.


also, Gaia sadly admits to helping a pregnant mother have an abortion. I disagree strongly with her decision.


Thank you so much for reading our golden books blog post! Subscribe to stay updated on our new content. We also appreciate it if you share this post or leave a comment with us. We love to hear from our readers.


Books Undecided

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page