top of page
  • abbyhoffman12

Invictus by Ryan Graudin


Some books are easy reads. Funny. Relatable. Lighthearted.


Other books are mind blowing reads. Intriguing. Fast-paced. Unique.


A young adult science fiction novel focused on time travel definitely places Invictus in the mind blowing category.


I had never read a book about time travel until this book, and let me tell you, I kind of loved it. If anyone has a spare time machine please let me know.



Set in a future where the current culture revolves around discovering the past, Invictus is all about Farway Gaius McCarthy, a boy born out of time. When his dreams of following in his mother's footsteps of government time travel come to a halt by mysterious circumstances, he pursues his passion in a less than legal way. A captain of a time travel ship with the purpose of stealing valuable objects from the past, life is exciting for Farway and his friends. But when things seem to be crashing around them, they find out that time may not be as stable as it seems. And they may be the only ones who can keep it from collapsing completely.


As soon as I started this book, I was all in. The first few chapters had me hooked. I loved learning the personality of ever character, and the dynamic between Farway and his friends turned crew. Toward the end of the book, I felt a little more disinterested. I admit, it took me a few weeks to actually read the last few chapters. I think too much new information was added at the end which is what made it difficult to understand. But I still liked the overall plot of this story. I found myself wanting resolution to the problems as much as the characters did. I enjoy reading Ryan's writing style and the humor but also realness she includes throughout.


If you are looking for a thrilling book focused on the future as well as the past, this one is for you!



Keep Reading,

Abby


3.5 Stars

Red Rating










11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page